I’m an Owl not a Lark!

Standard

I had a fractured sleep last night

No splints or plasters

Could knit it together

Thereafter the pain of it

Has left me yawning … all morning

I’m an owl not a lark

As the day proceeds

I can feel my body’s rhythms

As they pick up speed

But my problem is I am up with the birds

And I try to fly

When I know it’s absurd,

I blink in the sun

In its warmth I keep

Nodding my head

Falling off to sleep

I’m an owl not a lark

As the day proceeds

I can feel my body’s rhythms

As they pick up speed

As the sun descends

My lethargy ends

But the rest of the world

In bed wants to curl

So I have a hot bath

And I lie right down

I empty my head

Then I go to bed

I’m an owl not a lark

As the day proceeds

I can feel my body’s rhythms

As they pick up speed

So it’s no surprise

When I tell you guys

I had a fractured sleep last night

No splints or plasters

Could knit it together

Thereafter the pain of it

Has left me yawning … all morning

Leave a Reply

