More from Aman

Standard

#16968-eps_needle-thread

What do you say

To the needle that pricks you

While you sew?

There’s no one to blame,

There is only you!

 

T’was destiny that put you there,

And from here on

Who knows how we’ll fare.

 

Rocky and even

And up and down

There sits the king

For him I’m a clown.

 

What do you say to the

Needle that pricks you?

To some quite a lot,

And to a lot just a few.

 

Shush now! They say,

‘Tis just a pin prick they say

But,

That was my last drop,

If only they knew.

 

#2

So smile now,

And look on,

On the horror of things unfold.

These are made of your nightmares,

Look on,

As the warm wind turns cold.

 

So smile now,

Even though you shake and shiver.

At heart you know there’s no hope,

Nay, nary a sliver.

 

So smile now.

There’s no room for fear,

The beast can smell it,

Don’t let him get near.

 

So smile now.

‘Tis only the beginning.

The nightmares unfold,

As you feel

Yourself

Sinking.

 

3 responses »

  1. I thoroughly enjoyed this poem. And I can see why Seumas is so enchanted with your poetry. I am also now that I’ve begun reading it. Amusing and thought provoking at the same time. I’ll be back.

    • Thank you! This particular poem (and a few others) is by a young friend, I wanted to share his verse on my blog and he very kindly allowed me to do so. Thanks Kentucky Angel! Corpoetry is a whole different kettle of cod 🙂

      • I enjoy it. And I’ve heard several different expressions, but that’s the first time I’ve heard “kettle of cod”. Thanks for my morning chuckle. BTW, my name is Angie.

Leave a Reply

